The season to garden that is!

Summertime is gardening season pretty much everywhere you go. The weather is warm and the sunshine is plentiful..most plants thrive in these types of climates. Even though I don’t have a lot of room to work with, I am trying my hand at gardening with the space I do have so that I can grow some of my own food from the comfort of my front patio. Homegrown tomatoes taste so much better than store-bought ones, and how much more real can you get than being the grower of your own salad?


This summer will be my first try at container gardening. Last year I gardened from home where I had plenty of space to put plants in the soil, 2 acres worth! Since moving, my space has become pretty limited…Feast your eyes on exhibit A

Last fall, I attempted a small garden in our little back patio. I planted kale, lettuce, snow peas, and garlic. I bet you wouldn’t be able to tell from the photo, right? This part of our patio doesn’t get enough sunlight… and during the school year I became so busy I ended up neglecting much of the garden! Also, something ate my snow peas so they were never able to climb the trellis I made for them. Sad day. Look at the weeds that have taken over! :-X Now that I have some more time this summer I can figure out what to plant there. I’m thinking some creeping thyme? Any suggestions out there?

As you probably noticed from the first photo, the containers I have right now for my plants are pretty small. Next post I will discuss affordable container ideas!

-peas!-

